I received an email today from cnnet-china.com. This scam has been around for a while, but it’s the first time I recall receiving one of these emails. For detailed info and to see what happens if you actually respond, see Christopher Woods’s excellent post: Chinese domain name prospecting scam – it’s back.
The full text of my the email I received:
From: “Mark Yang”
Date: August 1, 2012 3:23:40 AM EDT
Subject: Regarding ” jeffking” Dispute
Reply-To: mark.yang@cnnet-china.com(If you are not in charge of this please transfer this email to your President or appropriate person, thanks)
Dear President,
We are the department of Asian Domain registration service in china, have something to confirm with you. We formally received an application on July 31.2012. One company which self-styled “Mega Investment Co., Ltd” were applying to register “jeffking” as Network Brand and following domain names:
jeffking.asia
jeffking.cn
jeffking.com.cn
jeffking.com.tw
jeffking.hk
jeffking.in
jeffking.net.cn
jeffking.org.cn
jeffking.twAfter our initial checking, we found the name were similar to your company’s, so we need to check with you whether your company has authorized that company to register these names. If you authorized this, we will finish the registration at once. If you did not authorize, please let us know within 7 workdays, so that we will handle this issue better. Out of the time limit we will unconditionally finish the registration for “Mega Investment Co., Ltd”.
Best Regards,
Mark Yang
Registration Dept.
Tel: +86 28 8315 5738 || Fax: +86 28 8315 5738
Address:21/F Dongcheng International No,98 XiAn Road,Jin Niu District,Chengdu City,China.
